The Celiac Chronicles: Foods I didn’t know had gluten

On today’s episode of The Celiac Chronicles, is a little sample of how difficult my life can be when trying to eat gluten-free. Gluten = wheat, therefore there are certain foods that have no reason to have gluten, but sometimes they actually do. Here are a few of them:

1. Eggs and Omelets in Cafés and Restaurants

3 5 Foods to Exclude from a Gluten-Free Diet Eggs

Why do you think omelets from cafés and restaurants are so soft and fluffy? Because in many cases, the cooks add pancake mixture to it!

2. Processed Meats


Hot dogs, sausages, meatballs and some BBQ meats contain traces of gluten.

3. Pickles

2 5 Foods to Exclude from a Gluten-Free Diet Pickl

The pickles themselves don’t contain gluten. The difference is in the process in which they are transformed, as usually malt vinagre is used, and it is filled with gluten.

4. Lipstick

5 5 Foods to Exclude from a Gluten-Free Diet Lipst

Obviously we don’t eat lipstick, but beat in mind that even the smallest sample of this product has enough gluten to ruin your diet. Even more if you’re Anastasia Steel from “50 Shades of Grey” and spend the whole day biting your lips.


Adapted from:

Leave a Reply